Ancient Paths

Your feet stayed firmly on the ground
And your eyes would not let go
Your words carried across the space
As an ice-cold wind blew through.

What is it that you seek in life?
Why have you followed me?

Your words wound tight with future fear
And tears I could not see.

I came to you an eager child
Blue-gold eyes that sang a story
Questions cut through layers of time
As the sky turned slowly dark.

What are the secrets long untold?
Where are the ancient paths of old?

The ways wind through layers of shadow
And sunshine fell upon us.

Nightfall came with sky colored black
And the stars hung bright and clear
Actions echoed through the time
As patterns shifted into place.

I gave myself to save another
She told me, breaking hard
We sat outside in cold grey dawn
And stories came undone.

Daybreak comes with eyes still open
Whispered words that touch our pain
Answers bought at ransom price
As we search for peace to sleep.

I don’t know how to walk this path
I did not want this to be me

Your hand stretches across the gap
And souls begin to breathe.

[Jeremiah 6:16]

Leave a comment